Minimum Car Insurance Requirements By State

Woman making a phone call about damage on her car
•••

Vera Petrunina / Getty Images

State minimum insurance requirements are the car insurance requirements for each state, by law, for their residents. These minimum requirements for each state can be found at the state insurance commissioner's website, and we have also included them here for your easy reference.

As you go down the list, you will notice that driving without insurance is illegal in almost every state. Make sure you have met the minimum insurance requirements in your state before you drive.

What Is Minimum Car Insurance? 

If you own a car, you will need car insurance that meets the minimum legal requirements for auto insurance based on the law in your state. Each state is different, which is why it is important to confirm requirements where you live. You can also contact your insurance representative if you have questions.

There are 4 basic types of coverage that may be included in state minimum car insurance requirements:

  • Bodily injury liability (defined per person as well as per accident)
  • Property damage liability (per accident)
  • Personal injury protection (per person and per accident)
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist protection (per person and per accident)

Car insurance liability coverages may be expressed as a series of numbers, which represent bodily injury coverage per person, bodily injury coverage per accident, and total property damage coverage. For example, car insurance coverage could be notated as $20,000/$40,000/$15,000, or 20/40/15. Such coverage would provide:

  • $20,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $40,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $15,000 per accident for property damage

There isn't an insurance product called "full coverage" insurance. Rather, you may be considered fully covered with a combination of coverages. Many states only require two coverages: bodily injury liability and property damage liability.

Do All States Require Car Insurance?

Nearly all states require some level of car insurance. However, there are some special cases.

In New Hampshire, for example, car insurance is not mandatory. The law does not require you to purchase car insurance in order to legally drive, but it does require you to be financially responsible, meaning you must compensate anyone you injure as a result of your driving and pay for any property damage you cause. Purchasing car insurance protects you and your family from paying high costs out-of-pocket in such an event.

Virginia, too, offers an alternative approach to car insurance requirements. Although car insurance isn't mandatory, Virginia law does require that all drivers be able to pay for injuries or property damage resulting from a car accident, and minimum car insurance is one way to meet this requirement.

Knowing whether state minimum liability coverage is enough for your needs depends on how much personal risk you are willing to take. If you do not have enough car insurance to cover damage caused to people or property if you have an accident, you'll have to pay the rest out-of-pocket.

Minimum Car Insurance By State

See your state's minimum requirements below.

Alabama 

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Alaska 

  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Arizona

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Arkansas

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

California

  • $15,000 bodily injury/death liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury/death liability to more than one person
  • $5,000 property damage liability per accident

Colorado

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Connecticut

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident

Delaware

  • $25,000 bodily injury or death per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

Florida

  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $10,000 personal injury protection

Georgia

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Hawaii

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $10,000 personal injury protection

Idaho

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Illinois

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Indiana

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Iowa

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Kansas

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • Personal injury protection ($4,500 per person in medical expenses, up to $900 per month for disability or loss of income, $25 per day for in-home services, $4,500 for rehabilitation, $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation costs)

Kentucky

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $10,000 personal injury protection

Louisiana

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Maine

  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $2,000 medical payments coverage

Maryland

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Massachusetts

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $20,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $40,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $8,000 personal injury protection

Michigan

  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage in another state
  • $250,000 personal injury protection (lower options or opt-out available for Medicare and Medicaid enrollees)

Minnesota

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $40,000 personal injury protection

Mississippi

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Missouri

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Montana

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Nebraska

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Nevada

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

New Hampshire

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage
  • $1,000 medical payments coverage

New Jersey

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $15,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury

New Mexico

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

New York

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 liability for death per person
  • $100,000 liability for death per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 personal injury protection
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

North Carolina

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $30,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $60,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

North Dakota

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $30,000 personal injury protection

Ohio

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Oklahoma

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Oregon

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $15,000 personal injury protection

Pennsylvania

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $5,000 medical benefits

Rhode Island

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

South Carolina

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage

South Dakota

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident

Tennessee

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Texas

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Utah

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Virginia

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Vermont

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $100,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $10,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

Washington

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

Washington D.C.

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $20,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $5,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident

West Virginia

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person

Wisconsin

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Wyoming

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident 

Article Sources

  1. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. "A Shopping Tool for Automobile Insurance," Pages 4-5. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  2. National Association of Insurance Commissioners. "Understanding Your Auto Insurance Policy." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  3. Allstate. "What Is 'Full Coverage?'" Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  4. Insurance Information Institute. "Auto Insurance Basics." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  5. State of New Hampshire Insurance Department. "Your Guide to Understanding Auto Insurance in the Granite State," Page 1. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  6. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  7. Alabama Department of Insurance. "Automobile Insurance FAQs." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  8. Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles. "Mandatory Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  9. Arizona Department of Transportation. "Vehicle Information." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  10. Arkansas Insurance Department. "Consumers FAQ - Private Passenger Automobile Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  11. State of California Department of Motor Vehicles. "Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  12. Colorado General Assembly. "Mandatory Automobile Insurance in Colorado." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  13. State of Connecticut Insurance Department. "Automobile Coverage Information." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  14. Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles. "Vehicle Services Registration - Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  15. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. "Florida Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  16. Georgia Officer of Commissioner of Insurance & Safety Fire. "Auto Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  17. State of Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. "Motor Vehicle Insurance Information." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  18. Idaho Department of Insurance. "Consumers - Automobile Insurance - Basic Coverages." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  19. Illinois Department of Insurance. "Auto Insurance Shopping Guide - Required Auto Insurance Coverages." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  20. Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. "Proof of Financial Responsibility." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  21. Iowa Insurance Division. "Automobile Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  22. Kansas Insurance Department. "Introduction to Auto Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  23. Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. "Mandatory Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  24. Louisiana Department of Insurance. "Consumers Guide to Auto Insurance," Page 4. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  25. State of Maine Professional and Financial Regulation. "Auto Insurance Basics." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  26. Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration. "Auto Insurance Guide." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  27. Massachusetts Attorney General's Insurance and Financial Services Division. "Understanding Auto Insurance - Required Coverage." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  28. Michigan.gov. "Choosing Bodily Injury Coverage." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  29. Michigan.gov. "Choosing PIP Medical Coverage." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  30. Minnesota Commerce Department. "Auto Insurance Guide," Page 3. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  31. Mississippi Insurance Department. "What the Law Requires." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  32. Missouri Department of Revenue. "Motor Vehicle Insurance (Financial Responsibility)." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  33. Montana Department of Justice Motor Vehicle Division. "Insurance and Verification." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  34. Nebraska Department of Insurance. "Auto Liability Insurance," Page 2. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  35. Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. "Nevada Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  36. State of New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance. "Standard Auto Insurance Policy." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  37. New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. "Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  38. New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. "New York State Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  39. North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. "Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  40. North Dakota Insurance Department. "Auto - The Basics." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  41. Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. "Mandatory Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  42. Oklahoma Insurance Department. "Auto Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  43. Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services. "Minimum Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  44. Pennsylvania Insurance Department. "Automobile Insurance Guide," Page 3. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  45. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Insurance Division. "Consumers Guide to Auto Insurance," Page 5. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  46. South Carolina Department of Insurance. "What Is Auto Insurance?" Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  47. South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. "Automobile Insurance - Mandatory Insurance Coverage." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  48. Tennessee Department of Revenue. "Why You Should Have Auto Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  49. Texas Department of Insurance. "Types of Auto Coverages." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  50. Utah State Legislature. "31A-22-304 Motor Vehicle Liability Policy Minimum Limits." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  51. Vermont General Assembly. "23 V.S.A. § 800 Maintenance of Financial Responsibility." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  52. Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner. "Washington State's Mandatory Auto and Motorcycle Insurance Law." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  53. District of Colombia Department of Motor Vehicles. "Vehicle Insurance." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  54. State of West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. "Mandatory Compulsory Insurance Requirements." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  55. State of Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. "Frequently Asked Questions Automobile Insurance," Pages 1-2. Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.

  56. Wyoming Insurance Department. "Auto Insurance FAQs." Accessed Nov. 8, 2020.