U.S. Army Military Occupational Specialty (MOS) System

Learn how the U.S. Army categorizes the hundreds of possible jobs it offers

Officers and Cadets

The U.S. Army categorizes the jobs performed by enlisted personnel under what's called the Military Occupational Specialty, or MOS, system. Every MOS is known by its code.

Jobs performed by commissioned officers, meanwhile, are covered by what the Army refers to as "areas of concentration," or AOC. As in the MOS system for enlisted personnel, these AOCs all have their own code under the system. In addition, warrant officers have their own set of MOS codes, known as WOMOS codes.

Here's a guide to some of the career paths you can take under the Military Occupational Specialty system.

Army Enlisted MOS System

If you're considering a career in the U.S. Army enlisted services, you're probably aware that the organization offers a huge range of different job types. This is exemplified by the MOS system.

This system includes what are literally hundreds of different possible jobs and careers you can pursue in the Army. For example, you could be assigned as an infantryman (MOS code 11B), a diver in the Army Corps of Engineers (MOS code 12D), an ccquisition, logistics & technology (AL&T) contracting NCO (MOS code 51C), or a watercraft engineer (MOS code 88L).

The Army uses Career Management Fields (CMFs) to group together related jobs. All related jobs have the same first two numbers.

For example, in the Military Police, the four related enlisted jobs include: military police (31B), criminal investigation command (CID) special agent (31D), internment/resettlement specialist (31E), and working dog handler (31K).

In the Medical CMF, there are numerous enlisted jobs, such as: dental specialist (68E), occupational therapy specialist (68L), radiology specialist (68P), animal care specialist (68T), and chief medical NCO (68Z).

Army Officer Job Classifications

As with enlisted personnel, Army jobs for commissioned officers include hundreds of possibilities that are listed by code.

The numerical codes used for officers and enlisted personnel in the same Career Management Fields are the same. For example, 56A refers to command and unit chaplains, who are officers, while 56M refers to religious affairs specialist, an enlisted position.

Again, as with enlisted personnel, there's a huge variety of commissioned officer careers available, in areas ranging from the Military Police Branch and the Cyber Branch to the Armor Branch, the Signal Corps Branch, the Judge Advocate General Branch and the Medical Corps Branch.

Army Warrant Officer Classifications

There are fewer Army warrant officer jobs, and therefore fewer job classifications. Warrant officer military occupational specialties contain a three-digit code with a letter suffix.

For example, in the Aviation Branch, you can pursue a career as an air traffic and air space management technician (WOMOS code 150A). The Signal Corps Branch offers careers as information services technicians (WOMOS code 255A) and information protection technician (WOMOS code 255Z). And the Adjutant General Branch includes careers as human resources technician (WOMOS code 420A) and as bandmaster (420C).

Find Your Next Job

Job Search by