Tenants' Rights in New Mexico

6 Rights of Tenants in New Mexico

Picture of Tenants' Rights in New Mexico
Tenants' Rights in New Mexico. Marc Romanelli/Blend Images/Getty Images

Landlord tenant law in New Mexico protects the rights of its tenants. These rights include the right to the security deposit, the right to rent disclosure and the right to notice before landlord entry. Learn six rights of tenants in New Mexico.

New Mexico Tenant’s Right to the Security Deposit

47-8-18

New Mexico’s landlord tenant law includes certain rules for the security deposit. These rules help both the landlord and tenant understand what is expected of them.

Security Deposit Amount:

For leases that are less than a year, the most a landlord can collect is one month’s rent. If the lease is one year or more, the landlord has the option of collecting more than one month’s rent, but if he or she does, the deposit must be placed in an account that earns interest.

Security Deposit Deductions:

Landlords can make deductions from the security deposit for damages above normal wear and tear, unpaid utilities, unpaid rent and other breaches of the lease.

Returning Deposit:

A landlord must return a tenant’s deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease. If the landlord is keeping any money, the landlord must also include a written statement which itemizes what deductions have been taken and the amount of each deduction.

Walk-Through Inspections:

New Mexico landlords are not lawfully required to do a walk-through inspection of the unit with their tenant before the tenant moves out.

The landlord and tenant are allowed to do this inspection, however, if both sides want and agree to it.

See Also: New Mexico's Security Deposit Law

New Mexico Tenant’s Right to Fair Housing

Tenants in New Mexico are protected by the Federal Fair Housing Act. This act protects seven classes of people from being discriminated against in any activity related to housing.

These seven classes are:

New Mexico also has its own Human Rights Act. This act protects four additional classes of people. These classes are:

  • Ancestry
  • Gender Identity
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Spousal Affiliation

New Mexico Tenant’s Right to Rent Disclosure

47-8-15

Landlord tenant law in New Mexico requires that landlords inform their tenants about certain rules and procedures regarding their rent. This includes:

Amount of Rent:

The amount of rent due each week, month or year should be clearly written in the lease agreement. If it is not, it is assumed that the tenant will pay the fair market rent to live in the unit.

Where to Pay Rent:

The location where rent should be paid should be written in the lease agreement. If it is not, it is assumed that the rent will be collected at the tenant’s unit.

When to Pay Rent:

When the rent is due should also be listed in the lease agreement. If it is not, it is assumed that rent is due at the beginning of each month.

Lease Term:

Unless the lease agreement states otherwise, any tenant who pays rent weekly is considered a week to week tenant. Any tenant who pays rent monthly is considered a month to month tenant.

Late Fees:

Late fees are allowed if it is an included clause in the lease agreement. Landlords are allowed to charge a maximum of ten percent of the periodic rent as a late fee. So, if the monthly rent is $1,000, then the landlord can charge a late fee of $100. The landlord has until the next rental period after the late rent was collected to notify the tenant that they owe a late fee.

Fee for Guests:

New Mexico landlords cannot try to charge their tenants for having guests at the property. They cannot charge a fee if there are a reasonable number of guests or if these guests stay for a reasonable amount of time.

However, the landlord may be allowed to charge the tenant if the tenant’s guests use any other facilities at the rental property other than those in the tenant’s own unit.

Rent Increase:  

For month to month tenants a landlord must provide the tenant with at least 30 days’ notice before the end of the lease term that the landlord intends to increase the tenant’s rent.

For weekly tenants, the landlord must provide the tenant with written notice of a planned rent increase at least one week in advance of the rent due date.

Rent as Security:

Rent cannot be used as a security deposit or to pay for damages or other deductions from the security deposit unless the landlord and tenant agree in writing that this is acceptable.

New Mexico Tenant’s Right to Notice Before Landlord Entry

47-8-24

Reasons a Landlord Can Enter a Tenant’s Unit in New Mexico:

  • To Inspect the Unit
  • To Make Necessary or Requested Repairs
  • To Make Necessary or Requested Improvements
  • To Make Necessary or Requested Alterations
  • To Supply Necessary or Requested Services
  • To Show the Unit to Prospective Tenants
  • To Show the Unit to Prospective or Actual Buyers, Contractors or Mortgagees.

Required Notice:

New Mexico landlords must give a tenant at least 24 hours’ notice before the landlord can enter the tenant’s apartment. This notice must

  • Be a Written Notice
  • Include the Purpose of Entering the Unit
  • Include the Date of Requested Entry
  • Include a Reasonable Time Frame of Requested Entry

Tenant’s Right to Request Alternate Time:

A New Mexico tenant has the right to request that the landlord enter at a different date or time than the landlord requested. If this request is not impractical and does not harm the landlord financially, then the landlord shall make an effort to accommodate this request.

Exceptions to Notice:

The 24-hour notice requirement is not required in the two following situations

1. Within seven days of the tenant requesting that the landlord perform a repair or provide a service.

2. When the landlord is accompanied by a public worker conducting an inspection or by a representative of a cable, gas, electric or telephone company.

Emergency Entry:

A landlord is allowed to enter a tenant’s apartment during emergency situations without having to provide the normal 24 hours’ notice. An example of an emergency situation could be a carbon monoxide detector going off and the tenant not responding to the landlord’s requests to investigate the situation.

Additional Exceptions to Notice

A New Mexico landlord can enter a tenant’s unit at reasonable times, without having to give 24 hours’ notice in the following two situations:

  • If the tenant has abandoned or surrendered the unit
  • If the tenant has been away from the property for more than seven days.

Tenant Refuses Access:

If the tenant refuses to allow the landlord lawful access to their unit, the landlord may obtain an injunctive order from the court in order to gain access or can terminate the lease agreement. The landlord may also be entitled to damages.

Landlord Unlawful Entry:

If the landlord unlawfully enters a tenant’s apartment, attempts to enter at unreasonable times or makes repeated demands for entry which causes the tenant’s quiet enjoyment of the unit to be interrupted, the tenant can obtain injunctive relief from the court for the landlord to stop the behavior or the tenant can terminate the lease agreement. The tenant could also be awarded damages.

New Mexico Tenant’s Rights After Landlord Retaliation

47-8-39; 47-8-48

Retaliatory Actions Prohibited:

A landlord is prohibited from performing any of the following actions as a form of retaliation against a tenant:

  • Increasing a Tenant’s Rent.
  • Decreasing Services to the Tenant.
  • Filing to Evict the Tenant — A Retaliatory Eviction

Timeline for a Landlord’s Actions to Be Considered Retaliation

In order for any of the above actions by a landlord to be considered retaliation, the action must have occurred within six months of a tenant exercising a lawful right.

Tenant Actions That Could Trigger Landlord Retaliation:

The following actions are commonly considered tenant actions that could lead a landlord to retaliate against the tenant. They include:

  • A tenant filing a complaint with a local government agency about a health or safety violation at the property.
  • A tenant organizing or joining a tenant’s union or a similar group.
  • A tenant has complained directly to the landlord about the landlord’s failure to follow the landlord’s maintenance responsibilities under New Mexico’s landlord tenant law. The tenant has requested that the landlord make repairs at the property.
  • Filing a complaint with HUD or other local Fair Housing Agency against the landlord for housing discrimination.
  • Won a lawsuit against the landlord.
  • Has a lawsuit pending against the landlord.
  • Testified on behalf of another tenant.
  • Withheld rent until a major health or safety violation at the property was fixed.

Tenant’s Rights After Landlord Retaliation

If a landlord is found to have acted in retaliation, the tenant will be entitled to remain in the unit and could be awarded reasonable court costs and attorney’s fees. The landlord could also be forced to pay a civil penalty of two times the monthly rent.

Landlord Actions Which Are Not Considered Retaliation

New Mexico landlords are legally allowed to perform the following actions with proper notice without being accused of retaliation.

  • Increase rent at the end of the term of a lease agreement.
  • Change services at the end of the term of a lease agreement.

The landlord must be able to show that these changes or increases are done to all tenants equally and are not just directed at a single tenant.

New Mexico Tenant’s Rights After Domestic Violence

47-8-33

Freedom From Eviction

A landlord is not allowed to evict a tenant based solely on the fact that he or she is a victim of domestic violence.

Domestic Violence as Defense for Lease Violation

If a landlord attempts to evict a tenant because he or she substantially violated the lease, the tenant can use a domestic violence incident as a defense. The tenant must have filed for and received a temporary restraining order because of the incident that caused the substantial lease violation or for a prior incident. In this case, the eviction will not hold up. In any other situation, where a tenant tries to claim domestic violence as a defense, the court can decide to evict the tenant who is directly responsible for the lease violation and allow the other tenants to remain in the unit and live out the rest of their lease.