Tax-Free Holidays 2020

Tax-free weekends listed by state

Woman with shopping bags looking at her phone and smiling
••• andresr / E+ / Getty Images

Tax-free holidays, sometimes referred to as "sales tax holidays," are great opportunities for shoppers to purchase items tax-free, such as clothing, school supplies, shoes, and other savings. You don't have to be a resident of one of these states to take advantage of their tax-free weekends, either.

Simply visit the state to do your shopping and you won't have to pay sales tax as long as the items you buy are eligible under the state's tax-free shopping guidelines.

States With Sales Tax Holidays in 2020

Fifteen states are expected to have tax-free holidays in 2020 and 2021. Hover over each orange state to see their sales tax rates and view their sales tax holidays.


Shop during Alabama's tax-free weekend in July and you won't have to pay taxes on certain school supplies, computers, books, and clothing. Be sure to check which cities and counties are participating and which items are exempt from taxes.

Alabama offered another tax-free holiday from February 21 through February 23, 2020, when shoppers didn't have to pay taxes on select severe weather preparedness items up to $60.


Connecticut shoppers get a whole week of tax-free shopping on clothing and footwear purchases that don't exceed $100 per item. It took place from August 16 through August 22 in 2020, so keep an eye out for a similar timeframe in 2021.


Florida's tax-free weekend covers certain clothing items that are less than $60 per item, and school supplies that cost less than $15 per item. This event took place from August 7 through 9 in 2020, with certain items exempt.

Florida offered another tax-free holiday in 2020 from May 29 through June 4. Consumers paid no taxes on generators up to $750, on radios and plastic sheeting up to $50, on batteries and coolers up to $30, as well as other items. Keep eye out for similar dates in 2021.


Iowa has a tax-free weekend that's good on clothing or footwear with a value of less than $100 per item. It always takes place during the first weekend of August. It was August 1 and 2 in 2020.


Maryland has a whole week of tax-free shopping beginning the second Sunday of August through the following Saturday. You can buy apparel and footwear less than $100 and not pay sales tax. The state has added an exception from taxes on the first $40 of a backpack during this week in August as well.

Maryland has another tax-free holiday on Energy Star items, with no cap, on the Saturday that immediately precedes the third Monday in February.


The tax-free days in Massachusetts permit tax-exempt purchases on specific items costing less than $2,500 each. Products excluded include motor vehicles, meals, gas, electricity, tobacco products, and telecom services. Taxes do apply to these purchases.

These tax-free days took place on August 29 and August 30 in 2020, so you can probably expect a similar time frame in 2021.


Mississippi's tax-free shopping weekend lets you save on sales taxes when you're buying certain clothing and footwear items that cost less than $100 each. The weekend was schedule for July 26 and 27 in 2020, so look for similar dates in 2021.

There's also a Second Amendment holiday in this state where firearms, ammunition, and hunting supplies are sales tax-free. This took place from August 28 through 30, 2020.


You can shop tax-free in Missouri on clothing items having a taxable value of $100 or less, school supplies not to exceed $50, computers valued at less than $1,500, computer software totaling up to $350, computer peripheral devices not to exceed $1,500, and graphing calculators sold for less than $150.

This holiday took place from August 2 through August 4 in 2020, but certain counties and cities opted out. Be sure to check dates as well as participating areas for 2021.

Missouri had another tax-free holiday for Energy Star items with no cap from April 19 to April 25 in 2019.

New Mexico

New Mexico's annual tax-free shopping weekend lets you avoid paying taxes on clothing, shoes, computers, computer equipment, or school supplies up to certain dollar amounts. It took place from August 2 through August 4 in 2020, so look for similar dates in 2021.

New Mexico has another tax-free holiday on November 28, 2020 for items up to $500, including clothing, accessories, sporting equipment, tools, books, art, cosmetics, musical instruments, cookware, bedding, furniture, toys, games, and electronics.


Ohio's tax-free day covers clothing items priced at $75 or less, school supplies priced at $20 or less, and school instructional materials priced at $20 or less. The weekend was held August 7 in 2020, so expect a similar date in 2021.


There as a tax-free weekend in Oklahoma on clothing and shoes that were priced under $100 from August 2 through August 4 in 2020, so look for similar dates in 2021.

South Carolina

You could shop tax-free in South Carolina for clothing, clothing accessories, footwear, school supplies, computers, and linens from August 7 through August 9 in 2020. The state provides a complete list of exempt items.


Tennessee's tax-free weekend took place from July 24 through July 26, 2020, and it let you purchase tax-free clothing items that were $100 or less, school supplies and school art supplies that were $100 or less, and computers that sold for $1,500 or less. Be sure to check the state's list of exempt items.


The tax-free weekend in Texas took place from August 7 through 9, 2020. It exempted taxes on clothing, footwear, school supplies, and backpacks priced at less than $100. The event is scheduled for August 6 through 8 in 2021.

Texas also has sales tax holidays in April for severe weather preparedness and in May for Energy Star appliances.


The tax-free weekend in Virginia lets you save on school supplies that cost less than $20 per item, and on clothing and footwear that cost less than $100 per item. You can also buy tax-exempt hurricane and emergency preparedness products, as well as Energy Star and WaterSense products. The event was August 7 through August 9, 2020, so look for similar dates in 2021.

Each state that participates in tax-free holidays has different rules and exclusions. Be sure to read the details on the state's tax-free shopping.

States That Didn't Have Tax-Free Holidays in 2020

Several states did not have tax-free holidays in 2020, so it's doubtful that they'll do so in 2021. But some of them don't have a sales tax at all.

  • Alaska: No state-level sales tax, although some local jurisdictions have them
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware: No sales tax collected, but the state does impose a gross receipts tax
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana: Has ceased all sales tax-free holidays through June 30, 2025
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana: No sales tax collected
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire: No sales tax collected
  • New Jersey
  • New York: Lawmakers are discussing a potential sales tax-free holiday for water-conserving products during Memorial Day weekend
  • North Carolina: The sales tax-free holiday was repealed in 2014
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon: No sales tax collected
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming