What's the Minimum Legal Working Age in Vermont?

Working can teach youth life skills

Researching for our group project
PeopleImages/Getty Images

If you're a Vermont teen and you want to apply for your first job, you need to know the minimum legal working age in your state. If you're eligible to work, then congratulations. Being a part of the workforce will teach you valuable life skills such as teamwork, overcoming obstacles and problem-solving.

The practical side of having a job is earning money to put in the bank or spend on things like clothes, entertainment, eating out or that shiny new digital toy.

If you need a job for a more pressing reason, such as helping your family met ends, you still need to know the laws governing work hours and occupations as well as required documents. 

Age Restrictions and Types of Work for Vermont Teens 

Both federal child labor laws and Vermont law are in accordance that the minimum age to work is 14 (with some exceptions). However, child labor laws in each state may dictate their own minimum age to work as well as which permits are needed. When federal and state laws conflict, the more stringent law always applies.

In certain circumstances, children younger than 14 are allowed to work. For instance, child labor laws do not restrict minors from working on a family farm or in a family business if they are under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian. Juveniles may also engage in household chores or do yard work (but can't use power-driven tools) in exchange for money.

 They are also allowed to work in the entertainment industry, babysit or have a paper route. Before young Vermonters begin their jobs, they should become familiar with the many regulations related to the child labor laws. 

Certificates Required for Work

Vermont state law requires child employment certificates for all youth under age 16.

 Employment certificates are provided by the labor department. An age certificate is not issued in Vermont. 

What Hours Can Teens Work?

Although teens ages 14-15 can work in a variety of jobs (including positions in offices, restaurants, retail stores, and hospitals) the hours they can work are restricted. Vermont youth are not allowed to work more than three hours during a school day, 18 hours during a school week, eight hours during a non-school day or 40 hours during a non-school week. 

Additionally, Vermont teens ages 14-15 can only work between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (except June 1 through Labor Day when teens can work until 9 p.m.). Teens ages 16-17, on the other hand, do not have restrictions on hours, except when they're supposed to be in school 

Caution

Teens are precluded from working in hazardous situations that might cause serious bodily harm, death or adverse health effects; specifically as a result of exposure to power-operated machines, toxic chemicals or dangerous occupations such as office tower window cleaners

For more information on the minimum age to work in Vermont and how to obtain employment certificates, visit the Vermont State Labor website.