The Minimum Legal Age to Work in Nebraska
Learn What Age You Have to Be to Start Earning Cash
If you're a Nebraska resident who's interested in earning income, you must first consider whether you meet the state's minimum legal age to work. If so, this is exciting news. It means you can start saving money for something you've been dreaming of—be it a first car, college expenses or a trip to a place you've always wanted to visit when you finish high school.
Perhaps you live in a single-parent household and money is tight, or you have a parent who's unable to work for some reason and you want to work to help your struggling family.
Whatever the reason that's sparked your desire to enter the workforce, you need to find out what restrictions you face in the workplace. Although minors can work, they can't perform all jobs, and they might be limited to working just certain hours.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Work in Nebraska?
With some exceptions, federal child labor laws state that the minimum age to work is 14, and the same is the case in Nebraska. But child labor laws in each state may also indicate the minimum age to work and which permits are needed, so if you relocate elsewhere, you may face different regulations. However, when there is a conflict between federal and state laws, the more restrictive law will apply. The good news is that state laws generally line up with federal law, as far as minimum legal working age is concerned.
If you're under 14 and want to earn some cash, there's still hope. Child labor laws generally don't forbid youth your age from babysitting, delivering newspapers, working as golf caddies or doing yard work that doesn't require power-driven machines.
So, until you're of age, you might have to get by on this kind of work before you can serve in the variety of roles full-fledged teenagers can.
Child actors, models or those who work in a family business or farm are also typically able to work before their 14th birthdays. That said, before children begin working jobs for kids it is important to review the rules and restrictions surrounding minor labor laws.
Certificates Needed to Work in Nebraska
Nebraska state law requires juveniles under age 16 to obtain a child employment certificate to work. Employment certificates are provided by the school or obtained online. Ask the administrative office how to get a certificate. In addition, youth ages 16 and older will be provided with an age certificate by request from their school. However, it is not required under Nebraska state law.
How Many Hours May Teens Work?
Nebraska youth ages 14 and 15 years may not work more than eight hours a day or 48 hours a week. They're also prohibited from working before 6 a.m. or after 10 p.m.
Children younger than 16 years old may not be employed in dangerous jobs that may result in serious bodily injury or death or that adversely affects their health. They may also not work in jobs in which their morals may be depraved.