Military Reenlistment Eligibility (RE) Codes

See If You are Eligible to Reenlist or Need a Waiver

Soldiers saluting
John Moore / Staff/Getty Images

Are you eligible to reenlist in the military? The Military Reenlistment Eligibility Code (RE) on your discharge documents shows whether you are eligible, would need a waiver, or are ineligible. But it doesn't say it in plain English, so here is how to interpret the code.

The reentry codes are found on DD Form 214 in the bottom section in blocks 24, 26, and 27. Box 24 states the character of service, with the type of discharge.

This may be honorable, other than honorable, bad conduct or dishonorable. You are normally only eligible for reenlistment if you have an honorable discharge. Box 26 contains the Separation Code, which tells the reason for discharge.

It is box 27 that has the reentry code that will differ between the different branches of the military. In general, a code of RE-1 is good to go for all services, you are eligible to reenlist. If you have any other code, you may be eligible, you may require a waiver, or you may be ineligible.

The codes used are subject to change. If you have been separated from the military for a number of years, you may find older codes on your DD214. Refer to the military's Master List of Military Reenlistment Codes (RE) for further explanations. If you have an RE code that requires a waiver, you should contact the recruiting command to find out how to apply for a waiver.

Army RE Codes

In general, those who receive an Army RE Code of RE-1 may reenlist in the Army or another service with no problem.

Individuals with an Army RE Code of RE-3 is ineligible for reenlistment unless a waiver is granted. Individuals with an Army RE Code of RE-4 or RE-4R (retired) are normally not eligible to reenlist in the Army, nor join another service. The Army simplified its RE codes, so you may see a variety of codes depending on your date of separation.

Check with the recruiting command to see if you are eligible, need a waiver, or are ineligible.

Navy and Coast Guard RE Codes

These services have a complex variety of codes. If your code starts RE-1, you are eligible to reenlist. But it gets tricky from there on as some RE-3 codes require waivers or are ineligible, for example. Check the current list for details and discuss them with the recruiting command. Of note is the code of RE-4 when it was issued solely for homosexual conduct. It should be reviewed as you may be eligible for reenlistment.

Air Force RE Codes

It's complicated. Unless your code is plain and simple RE-1, you will have to check the current chart. Codes beginning RE-2 may mean you need a waiver or may mean you are not eligible to reenlist.

Marine Corps RE Codes

The Corps also has a more complex set of RE codes, but at least if you see an A after the number (such as 1A, 2A, 3A), you are qualified to enlist provided all other criteria are met. 

Continue Reading...