Mid-September Fiction Contests and Awards

Les Figues Press NOS Book Contest

This year’s guest judge is lê the time thúy,  performance artist and author of The Gangster We Are All Looking For.

A prize of $1,000 and publication by Les Figues Press will be given for the winning poetry or prose manuscript.

Les Figues editors will select an additional manuscript to be published by the press as the NOS Les Figues Editors’ Selection.

Eligible submissions include poetry, novellas, innovative novels, anti-novels, short story collections, lyric essays, hybrids, translations, and all forms not otherwise specified.

Prize: $1,000 + publication

All entrants receive a Les Figues book of their choosing (see submission form for complete list of available titles).

Submit here.

Deadline: September 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $25

Drake University Emerging Writer Award

The Susan Glaspell Writers & Critics Series at Drake University is accepting submissions for its seventh annual Drake Emerging Writer Award. The faculty and students of Drake University's English Department select one outstanding first book from among the entries: the author receives an honorarium of $1000 plus travel and lodging expenses to read at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. 

Each year, the award rotates among genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and graphic forms). We are currently accepting submissions of first books of Poetry for consideration for the Drake University Emerging Writer Reading, which will be held in April of 2016. Entries may be submitted by the author or the publisher and must include a copy of the book; a cover letter that includes a brief biography, contact information for the author (including email address), and a statement affirming that this is his/her first book-length literary non-fiction publication. There is no reading fee. Entries must be postmarked by September 15th, 2015. Materials postmarked after September 15th will not be considered. Entries will not be returned and will become the property of the Drake University English Department.

The winner will be notified by February 1, 2016. All entrants will be notified of the results by February 15, 2016. 

This year, the award is open to single-author first books of poetry only. Authors must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents and must agree to attend and participate in the reading at Drake University in April 2015 to receive the award. The following are ineligible for the awards: 1) authors who have published more than one book of poetry through independent, university, or commercial publishers; 2) entries from vanity presses and self-published books; 3) books with a publication date of 2011 or earlier; 4) current students and employees of Drake University.

Send all materials to:

Drake University Emerging Writer Award
c/o Susan Glaspell Writers and Critics Reading Series
English Department, Howard Hall
Drake University
2507 University Ave
Des Moines, IA 50311

Deadline: September 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $0

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Writing Fellowships

The Fellowship competition was at first open only to citizens of either the United States or its possessions. In keeping with the Guggenheims’ intentions, as expressed in their First Letter of Gift, the awards were originally titled the “John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study Abroad.” Beginning with the inaugural class of fifteen Fellows in 1926, all Fellows were required to spend their terms outside of the United States. But eager to place as few restrictions as possible on the Fellows, the Foundation rescinded that requirement with the competition of 1941.

Canadians became eligible for the Guggenheim Fellowships in 1940, and the name of the competition changed to “the United States and Canada.” Residents of the Philippines were eligible from the establishment of the Foundation (for the Philippines were a U.S. territory at that time) until 1988, when the Philippine program was discontinued; applications from the Philippines were considered by the Committee of Selection for the United States and Canada through 1949, when that responsibility shifted to the Latin American Committee.

Fellowships of approximately $50,000 each are awarded annually to poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers on the basis of achievement and exceptional promise. Residents of the United States and Canada with a significant record of publication are eligible. Using the online submission system, submit a career summary, a list of publications, contact information for up to four references, and a statement of intent by September 18. Upon request of the foundation, submit up to three published books by November 16. 

Deadline: September 18, 2015
Entry Fee: $0 

Harvard University Radcliffe Institute Fellowships

Fellowships of $75,000 each, office space at the Radcliffe Institute, and access to the libraries at Harvard University are given annually to poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers to allow them to pursue creative projects. Fellows are expected to reside in Boston during the fellowship period, which lasts from September through May. Poets who have published at least 20 poems in the last five years or a poetry collection and who are in the process of completing a manuscript are eligible. To be considered for a fellowship in fiction or creative nonfiction, applicants must have a contract for publication of a book-length manuscript or at least three shorter works published. Writers who are graduate students at the time of application are not eligible. For 2016-2017 fellowships, submit up to 10 poems, or one or two short stories, a recent book chapter, or an essay totaling no more than 30 pages; contact information for three references; a curriculum vitae; and a project proposal by September 23. Call, e-mail, or visit the website for the required entry form and complete guidelines. 

Deadline: September 23, 2015 
Entry Fee: $0