Mid-June 2015 Fiction Contest Awards and Deadlines

American Fiction Short Story Award

American Fiction
Courtesy of American Fiction's website

New Rivers Press will publish approximately twenty short stories in each American Fiction volume, subtitled The Best Unpublished Stories by Emerging Writers. We seek well crafted, character drove literary fiction in any genre with a maximum of 10,000 words per story. Each of the selected story authors will receive national publication and distribution, author discount, and two complimentary copies. $1,750 in prizes will be awarded. ($1,000 for 1st place, $500 for 2nd place, and $250 for 3rd place). The finalist judge for Volume 13 is Michael White.

Previous finalist  judges include Charles Baxter, Ann Beattie, Robert Boswell, Ray Carver, Louise Erdrich, Clint McCown, Antonya Nelson, Josip Novakovich, Joyce Carol Oates, Tim O'Brien, Wallace Stegner, Anne Tyler, and Tobias Wolff.

Deadline: June 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $16 More

Philadelphia Stories Marguerite McGlinn Prize for Fiction

Award-winning author, Bonnie Jo Campbell, will be the 2015 judge for Philadelphia Stories’ 7th Annual McGlinn Fiction Contest. Campbell will also be in Philadelphia to award the prize at the annual awards dinner, on Friday, October 9, 2015, at the Kistler Memorial Library on the campus of Rosemont College. This annual national short fiction contest features a first place $2,000 cash award and an invitation to an awards dinner on Friday, October 10, on the campus of Rosemont College; a second place cash prize of $500; and third place cash prize of $250.

  • Previously unpublished works of fiction up to 8,000 words. Please note, "published" includes any work published in print or online, including online magazines, blogs, public social media sites, etc. 
  • Multiple submissions will be accepted for the contest only. Simultaneous submissions are also accepted, however, we must be notified immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere.
  • Only authors currently residing in the United States are eligible.
  • Submissions will only be accepted via the website.

Deadline: June 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $12 More

Crook’s Corner Book Prize

Crooks corner book prize
Courtesy of Crooks Corner website

The third annual Crook’s Corner Book Prize, to be awarded in January 2016, will honor a debut novel set in the American South. The Prize is intended to encourage emerging writers, whether published by established publishing houses, by small independent publishers, or self-published.

Crook’s Corner is an iconic restaurant in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, long a keystone in the pantheon of contemporary Southern cuisine. The Book Prize was inspired not only by the literary tradition of the American South but also by the famous literary cafés of Paris. The Deux Magots, the Flore, and Brasserie Lipp, for example, have for many years awarded prestigious writers’ prizes.

The winner of the Crook’s Corner Book Prize will receive $1,000 and a free glass of wine at Crook’s Corner every day for a year.

The submitted book must be the author’s first published novel for adult readers, published in the United States between January 1, 2014, and June 15, 2015. Regardless of the author’s residence, the book must be set predominantly in the American South, which includes the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia.

Deadline: June 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $45 More


New American Press Logo
New American Press Website

Winner receives a publication contract, including 25 author's copies and a crisp check for $1,000.

All full-length fiction manuscripts are welcome, including novels, novellas, collections of stories and/or novellas, novels in verse, linked collections, as well as full-length collections of flash fiction and short-shorts. Full-length fiction manuscripts tend to be at least 100 pages. There is no maximum length.

We read manuscripts blind, so please exclude identifying information from the manuscript itself. All necessary contact information is included in your Submittable file.

Simultaneous submissions are accepted and encouraged, but please contact us immediately if your manuscript is accepted for publication elsewhere.

Final judge this year is Larry Watson.

Deadline: June 15, 2015
Entry Fee: $22.50