About the Man Booker International Prize and Special Prizes

Including the Winners and Shortlists

Man Booker International Prize - Winners Photocall
Translator Deborah Smith with 2016 Man Booker International Prize winner Han Kang. WireImage / Getty Images

In addition to the The Man Booker Prize, the Booker Prize Foundation awards the Man Booker International Prizes and occasional special awards described below.

Like the Pulitzer Prize for Letters and the National Book Award, these awards are among the most well-known and prestigious book awards in the world, and is also one of the most lucrative literary prizes. 

About the Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded annually for a single work of fiction (novels or collections of short stories), translated into English and published in the UK.

 The winner is chosen by the judging panel.

The prize comes with a £50,000 payment, which is divided equally between the author and the translator. In addition to the main prize, each shortlisted author and translator receives £1,000. 

History of the Man Booker International Prize

From it's establishment in 2005 to 2015, the Man Booker International Prize was given to a living writer in recognition of achievement in fiction writing. Until 2015 was a bi-annual award — that is, one writer is chosen as a winner every two years. To be eligible, the winner's fiction needed to be either be originally published in English or his / her work must be generally available in translation in the English language.

In July 2015, the Booker Prize Foundation announced that the Man Booker International Prize was to become a prize for fiction in translation rather than for a body and join forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.


List of Man Booker International Prize Winners

Here are the Man Booker International Prize winners and their respective countries of origin.

2016 - The Vegetarian by Han Kang (South Korea), translated by Deborah Smith (Portobello Books)

2015 - change in rules

2015 - László Krasznahorkai (Hungary)

2O13 - Lydia Davis (USA)

2O11 - Philip Roth (USA)

2OO9 - Alice Munro (Canada)

2OO7 - Chinua Achebe (Nigeria)

2OO5 - Ismail Kadaré (Albania)

Man Booker Special Prizes

Throughout the history of the Booker Prizes, special prizes have been awarded periodically. They include:

The Lost Man Booker

In 1971, there was a change in timing and eligibility for the Man Booker Prize, which effectively discounted books published the previous year (1970).

Nearly forty years later, a one-time Lost Man Booker was awarded to rectify the gap, and retroactively honor books published in 1970 that missed out on their Booker Prize opportunity. The special panel of judges were all born in the year 1970.

Lost Man Booker Winner:

In 2010 the Lost Man Booker was awarded to J.G. Farrell for Troubles (published by Phoenix). The author's family accepted the award on his behalf.

Lost Man Booker Shortlist Books:

Nina Bawden, The Birds on the Trees (published by Virago)

J.G. Farrell for Troubles (published by Phoenix)

Shirley Hazzard, The Bay of Noon (published by Virago)

Mary Renault, Fire From Heaven (published by Arrow)

Muriel Spark, The Driver’s Seat (published by Penguin)

Patrick White, The Vivisector (published byVintage)

The Best of the Booker

In 2008, to mark the 4Oth anniversary of the Booker Prize, a panel of judges was asked to select a shortlist of the best books to have won the prize in the previous four decades.

From that shortlist, the ‘Best of the Booker’ was selected by an online vote by the general public.

Best of the Booker Winner

1981* - Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children (published by Cape) – same as Best of Booker 1

Best of the Booker Shortlist Books

1995* - Pat Barker, The Ghost Road (published by Viking)

1988* - Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda (published by Faber and Faber)

1999* - J.M. Coetzee, Disgrace (published by Secker & Warburg)

1973* - J.G. Farrell, The Siege of Krishnapur (published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

1974* - Nadine Gordimer, The Conservationist (published by Cape)

1981* - Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children (published by Cape)

The Booker of Bookers

In 1993, to mark the twenty-fifth anniversary, three former chairmen of judges were asked to choose the book which they believed to be the best of the previous winners.

Their ‘Booker of Bookers’ was

1981* - Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children (published by Cape)

*The year the book won its original Booker Prize.