Late-November Fiction Writing Contests

Carolina Wren Press Lee Smith Novel Prize

Submissions for the second Lee Smith Novel Prize are now open! Carolina Wren Press will choose one unpublished novel to receive this award of $1,000 and publication in honor of esteemed Southern author, literary mentor, and teacher Lee Smith. The award will be presented to a novel by an author from, living in, or writing about the American South–authors need only meet one of these qualifications, not all three. It is our hope to find and promote novelists from the South and their novels and, in the process, to explore and expand the definition of Southern literature. 

Please submit the manuscript in its entirety.  Author's biography and list of previously published works is not required but may be included in the cover letter. Manuscripts will be read "blind," so be sure author's name and any other identifying information only appear in the cover letter and not in the manuscript itself (including in headers or footers or on the first page of the manuscript).

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $20  More

Glimmer Train Press Short Story Award for New Writers

A prize of $1,500 and publication in Glimmer Train Stories is given quarterly for a short story by a writer whose fiction has not been published in a print publication with a circulation over 5,000. The editors will judge. Using the online submission system, submit a story of up to 12,000 words. 

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $18  More

Narrative Fall Story Contest

Narrative winners and finalists have gone on to win the Pushcart Prize, the Whiting Writers’ Award, and the Atlantic prize, and have appeared in collections such as The Best American Short Stories, The Best American Nonrequired Reading, and many others. View the recent awards won by Narrative authors. They look for works that have the ambition of enlarging our view of ourselves and the world.

Awards: First Prize is $2,500, Second Prize is $1,000, Third Prize is $500, and up to ten finalists will receive $100 each. All entries will be considered for publication.

You can submit here.

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $23 More

The Fish Short Story Prize

The Fish Short Story Prize was started in 1994, and has become an established event on the literary calendar. Previous judges, Roddy Doyle and Colum McCann are honorary patrons.

This year's judge, novelist and short story writer Kevin Barry, will be selecting 10 short stories to be published in the 2016 Fish Anthology.

Publication in the annual Fish Anthology (​Fish Books) has, for many authors, been a stepping-stone to a successful writing career. See ​Alumni. 

Ten stories will be published in the 2016 Fish Anthology. 
(First, second, third and seven honourable mentions) 

First - €3,000 - (€1,000 of which is for travel expenses to the launch of the Anthology).

Second – a week at  Anam Cara Writers' & Artists' Retreat in West Cork's Beara Peninsula, and €300 travel expenses. For information about past winners of second prize and their residencies, see here.

Third - €300

The ten published authors will each receive five copies of the Anthology and will be invited to read at the launch during the West Cork Literary Festival in July.

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $25 More

Writers' Village International Short Fiction Competition

A prize of £1,000 (approximately $1,120) and publication on the Writers' Village website is given twice yearly for a short story. John Yeoman will judge. Submit a story of up to 3,000 words by e-mail ( 

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $17

Quarter After Eight Robert J. DeMott Short Prose Contest

Quarter After Eight is an annual literary journal devoted to the exploration of innovative writing. We celebrate work that directly challenges the conventions of language, style, voice, or idea in literary forms. 

A prize of $1,008.15 and publication in Quarter After Eight will be given annually for a prose poem, a short-short story, or a micro-essay. Alison Stine will judge. Submit up to three pieces of no more than 500 words each. 

Deadline: November 30, 2015
Entry Fee: $15 More