Late-March 2015 Fiction Contests and Deadlines

Narrative Magazine Winter 2015 Story Contest


Our winter contest is open to all fiction and nonfiction writers. We’re looking for short shorts, short stories, essays, memoirs, photo essays, graphic stories, all forms of literary nonfiction, and excerpts from longer works of both fiction and nonfiction. Entries must be previously unpublished, no longer than 15,000 words, and must not have been previously chosen as a winner, finalist, or honorable mention in another contest.
Narrative winners and finalists have gone on to win the Pushcart Prize, the Whiting Writers’ Award, and the Atlantic prize, and have appeared in The Best American Short Stories, The Best American Nonrequired Reading, and others. View all the recent awards won by Narrative authors.
As always, we are looking for works with a strong narrative drive, with characters we can respond to as human beings, and with effects of language, situation, and insight that are intense and total. We look for works that have the ambition of enlarging our view of ourselves and the world.

Awards: First Prize is $2,500, Second Prize is $1,000, Third Prize is $500, and ten finalists will receive $100 each. All entries will be considered for publication.

Deadline: March 31, 2015
Entry Fee: $23

ABQ Writers Co-op bosque Fiction Prize


First Prize: $1000 honorarium + publication in bosque (the magazine), Issue 5
Final Judge: Lynne Sharon Schwartz

  • This year's contest is for writers 40 and over (born in 1975 or earlier).
  • All entries will be considered for publication in bosque (the magazine). All entries will be read anonymously.
  • Send no more than one story per entry. Each story must not exceed 5000 words. Multiple entries are acceptable, provided that a separate reading fee is sent for each.
  • Novel excerpts are acceptable but should be self-contained.
  • Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, but the contest fee is non-refundable if the submission is withdrawn. Please notify AWC as soon as possible if a submitted story is accepted elsewhere.
  • Previously published works and works accepted for publication elsewhere cannot be considered. Bosque's definition of publishing includes electronic publishing.
  • Electronic submissions only. Please read the following instructions carefully before submitting.

Deadline: March 31, 2015
Entry Fee: $22

The 2015 Lascaux Prize in Flash Fiction


Stories must be no longer than 1,000 words. They may be previously published or unpublished, and simultaneous submissions are accepted. The winner receives $1,000 and publication in The Lascaux Review. The winner and all finalists will be published in The 2016 Lascaux Prize Anthology.

Two copies of the anthology will be supplied to every writer appearing in it. Authors may enter more than once, and two stories may be submitted per entry (paste both into a single document). All genres and styles are welcome.

Deadline: March 31, 2015
Entry Fee: $10

Black Lawrence Press Hudson Prize


Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The Hudson Prize for an unpublished collection of poems or short stories. The prize is open to new, emerging, and established writers. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes awarded on publication.

Beginning with the 2014 Hudson Prize competition, all entries will be read blind by our panel of editors. Manuscripts should include a title page (listing only the title of the work), table of contents, and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Manuscripts should be 45-95 pages in length (poetry) or 120-280 pages in length (fiction), not including front and back matter (table of contents, title page, etc.). Identifying information for the author should not be included anywhere on the manuscript itself.

Deadline: March 31, 2015
Entry Fee: $25

Continue Reading...