Air Force Ribbons and Medals

Decorations in Order of Precedence for the Air Force

Machine gunners with Security Platoon, Combat Logistics Company 117, Combat Logistics Battalion 7, 1st Marine Logistics Group (Fwd), stand at the position of attention with their Purple Heart awards.
Stocktrek Images / Getty Images

 The medals and ribbons shown below are in correct order of precedence and only includes the ribbons most likely to be worn by members of today's Air Force.

Medal of Honor: The highest honor for heroism.

Air Force Cross: This is the Air Force version of the Distinguished Service Cross.

Defense Distinguished Service Medal: Highest non-combat military award, given only while assigned to a joint activity.

Distinguished Service Medal: Awarded to general officers for distinguished service.

Silver Star: Awarded for gallantry in action against an enemy of the United States.

Defense Superior Service Medal: Recognizes service in a position of great responsibility in a joint activity.

Legion of Merit: Designed to be given to the citizens of other nations as well as American military personnel.

Distinguished Flying Cross: Awarded for heroism or extraordinary achievement while in an aerial flight.

Airman's Medal: Given for heroic acts not involving actual combat.

Bronze Star: Given for heroic or meritorious achievement or service in connection with military operations against an armed enemy, not involving aerial flight.

Purple Heart: For a service person wounded or killed in action.

Defense Meritorious Service Medal: Recognizes non-combat meritorious service in a joint assignment.

Meritorious Service Medal: For outstanding non-combat meritorious achievement or service.

Air Medal: For single acts of heroism or meritorious achievements in aerial flight.

Aerial Achievement Medal

Joint Service Commendation Medal

Air Force Achievement Medal

Presidential Unit Citation

Joint Meritorious Service Award

Air Force Outstanding Unit Award

Air Force Organizational Excellence Award

Prisoner of War Medal

Combat Readiness Medal

Air Force Good Conduct Medal

Good Conduct Medal: Given to soldiers who display exemplary conduct, efficiency and fidelity in active duty.

Air Reserve Forces Meritorious Service Medal

Outstanding Airman of the Year

Air Force Recognition Ribbon

American Defense Service Medal

American Campaign Medal

Asian-Pacific Campaign Medal

Euro-African-Middle Eastern Campaign

World War II Victory Medal

Army of Occupation Medal

Medal for Humane Action

National Defense Service Medal: For honorable active service during the Korean War, Vietnam War, Gulf War or War on Terrorism, including Reserve members ordered to active duty.

Korea Service Medal

Antarctica Service Medal

Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal

Vietnam Service Medal

Humanitarian Service Medal

Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal

Air Force Overseas Ribbon Short

Air Force Overseas Ribbon Lng

Air Force Longevity Service Award Ribbon

USAF Basic Military Training Instructor Ribbon

Air Force Recruiter Ribbon

Armed Forces Reserve Medal

NCO PME Graduate Ribbon

Basic Military Training Honor Graduate Ribbon

Small Arms Expert Marksmanship Ribbon

Air Force Training Ribbon

Philippine Defense Ribbon

Philippine Liberation Ribbon

Philippine Independence Ribbon

Philippine Presidential Unit Citation

Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation

RVN Gallantry Cross with Palm

United National Service Medal

United Nations Medal

NATO Medal for Yugoslavia

NATO Medal for Kosovo

Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal

Kuwait Liberation Medal Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Kuwait Liberation Medal Government of Kuwait

Republic of Korea War Service Medal

For information regarding awards and decorations not listed, refer to Air Force Instruction 36-2903Air Force Instruction 36-2803, and Department of Defense Manual 1348.33-M