2017 Federal and State Minimum Wage Rates

growth chart
teekid/e+/Getty Images

What is the minimum wage for 2017? The minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor. The Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA) determines the minimum wage for employees in private and public sectors, in both Federal and State governments. Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage or higher. 

Federal Minimum Wage

The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, and has not increased since July 2009.

However, some states have a higher minimum wage rate. When the state minimum wage rate is higher than the federal rate, employers are required to pay workers the higher amount. 

Currently, there are no official decisions on an increased federal minimum wage in 2017. With that said, this year the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) enacted legislation that employees with federal contracts must be paid at least $10.20 per hour, beginning January 1, 2017. Likewise, tipped employees connected to federal contracts must be paid a cash wage of at least $6.80 per hour.

Exemptions from Minimum Wage

Please note that some employees are exempt from minimum wage requirements, such as those who are not protected by the Fair Labor Standards Act, tipped employees such as waitstaff, for example, and others can be paid at a lower rate than minimum wage.

State Minimum Wage Rates

In a few states, the minimum wage varies from one city or county to another.

For example, the minimum wage for Los Angeles and Chicago is higher than the hourly rate in California or Illinois. This variance is due to differences in the cost of living, usually in urban communities.

Projected minimum wage rates for 2017 (and in some cases, 2018 and 2019) have been released in some states.

 However, not all rates will be effective at the start of the calendar year. Some cities and states have instead scheduled increases in the minimum wage to take place at various times during the year.

In Maryland, for example, the minimum wage for 2017 is initially set at $9.25 starting July 1, 2017, and is slated for an increase to $10.10 effective July 1st, 2018. 

At the current time, 29 states have minimum wages above the federal minimum wage ($7.25/hour), and five states have not set a state minimum wage. These states include Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee. 

Minimum Wage Rates for 2017 Listed by State

The following is a list of minimum wage rates for each state for 2017 announced, to date. The list also includes scheduled increases for future years.

Please Note: Some states, indicated by an asterisk, adjust their rate annually based on the cost of living. In those cases, the figure listed is an estimate pending that adjustment. In addition, some cities, counties, state governments, and companies have higher minimum wage rates than the state minimum.

Minimum wage rates may change during the calendar year. Check with your state department of labor for rates and wages specific to your location.

A - L

Alabama: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)
Alaska: $9.80(Indexed Annual increases will begin on 1/12017)
Arizona: $10.00 ($10.00 to $12.00 in $0.50 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2017 to 1/1/2020)
Arkansas: $8.50
California: $10.50  ($11.00 to $15.00 in $1.00 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2018 to 1/1/2022)
  - Emeryville: $12.25  for small businesses with 55 employees, $14.44 companies with more than 55 employers
  - Los Angeles: $10.50 effective July 2016 with increases each year until it reaches $15 in 2020
  - Oakland: $12.25
  - Richmond: $12.30, and $13 in 2018 (with exceptions based on employer)
  - San Diego: $11.50
  - San Francisco: $14.00 effective 7/1/2017,  $15.00 effective 7/1/2018
  - San Jose: $10.30
Colorado: $9.30($9.30 to $12.00 in $0.90 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2018 and 1/1/2020)
Connecticut: $10.10
Delaware: $8.25
District of Columbia: $11.50 ($12.50 to $15 with Indexed Annual Increases between 7/1/2017 and 7/1/2020)
Florida: $8.10*
- Miami Beach: $10.31
Georgia: $5.15 (if covered by Fair Labor Standards - $7.25)

Guam: $8.25

H - M

Hawaii$9.25, $10.10 by 1/1/2018
Idaho: $7.25
Illinois: $8.25
- Chicago $11.00 July 2017, $12.00 July 2018, $13.00 July 2019
Indiana: $7.25
Iowa: $7.25 
Kansas: $7.25
Kentucky: $7.25
- Louisville: $9.00 July 2017)
- Kentucky State Workers $10.10
Louisiana: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)
Maine: $9.00 ($10.00 to $12.00 in $0.50 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2017 to 1/1/2020)
Maryland$9.25 7/1/2017,  $10.10 7/1/2018
Massachusetts$11.00  ($3.75 for tipped employees), $16.50 per hour for working on a Sunday
Michigan$8.90, $9.25 by 1/12018
Minnesota Large employers are required to pay workers $9.50/hour and small employers $7.75 (Indexed Annual increases will begin on 1/1/2018)
Mississippi: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)

Missouri: $7.70*

Montana: $8.15* ($4.00 for businesses with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less)

N - S

Nebraska$9.00 

Nevada: $7.25 for employees who receive qualifying health benefits, $8.25 for employees who do not.*
New Hampshire: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, as State Minimum wage was repealed in 2011)
New Jersey: $8.44*
New Mexico: $7.50
- Albuquerque: $8.75 ($7.75 with benefits)
New York: $9.70 ($10.40 by 12/31/2017 with $0.70 Indexed Annual Increases from 12/31/2017 to $12.50 by 12/31/2020. Starting 1/1/2021, the rate will be adjusted annually for inflation until it reaches $15 an hour) $10.75 for fast food workers in NYS and $12 in NYC, with limitations)
- More information on New York minimum wage increases.
North Carolina: $7.25
North Dakota: $7.25
Ohio: $8.15($7:25 for employers grossing $283,000 or less)
Oklahoma: $7.25
Oregon: $9.75, $10.25 by 7/1/2017. (or higher based on county density) (From $10.25 to $13.50 in $0.50 intervals from 7/1/2017 to 7/1/2022)
Pennsylvania: $7.25
Puerto Rico: $7.25
Rhode Island: $9.60 
South Carolina: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)
South Dakota: $8.65 *

T - Z

Tennessee: $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)
Texas: $7.25
Utah: $7.25
Vermont$10, $10.50 by January 1, 2018*
Virgin Islands: $7.25 ($4.30 for employers grossing $150,000 or less)
Virginia: $7.25
Washington: $11.00* (From $11.00 to $13.50 in $0.50 intervals from 1/1/2017- 1/2/2020)
- Seattle: $15 (for businesses over 500 employees in 2017 and for all businesses by 2021
West Virginia$8.75
Wisconsin: $7.25
Wyoming: $5.15** (**Federal Minimum Wage takes precedent as state minimum is less than $7.25)

Read More: Minimum Wage History and Compliance | Exceptions to Minimum Wage

Continue Reading...