2015 Youth Media Award and Honors Recipients - Alex to PrinZ

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award celebrates beginning reader books. Brand X / Getty Images

On February 2, 2015, the American Library Association announced winners of the Youth Media Awards, citing the most distinguished work in book writing, book illustration, video and audio books for children and young adults. The announcement was made in conjunction with the ALA's Midwinter Conference in Chicago.

Read about the 2015 recipients of the Newbery and Caldecott Medals and the Coretta Scott King and Michael L. Prinz awards.


Here are more of the prestigious 2015 Youth Media Awards — many of which celebrate ethnic, cultural, sexual and other types of diversity. Read more about the diversity in the  ALA Youth Media Awards criteria

2015 Schneider Family Book Awards:

For Books for Children (Ages 0 to 10)

  • A Boy and A Jaguar  by Alan Rabinowitz, illustrated by Catia Chien (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company)

For Books for Middle School (Ages 11 to 13)

  • Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin (Feiwel and Friends)

For Books for Teens (ages 13 to 18)

  • Girls Like Us, by Gail Giles (Candlewick Press)

2015 Alex Awards:

  • All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr (Scribner / Simon & Schuster)
  • Bellweather Rhapsody, by Kate Racculia (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing)
  • Bingo’s Run, by James A. Levine (Spiegel & Grau / Penguin Random House)
  • Confessions, by Kanae Minato, translated by Stephen Snyder (Mulholland Books / Little, Brown and Company / Hachette Book Group)
  • Everything I Never Told You, by Celeste Ng (The Penguin Press /Penguin Random House)
  • Lock In, by John Scalzi,  (Tor Book / Tom Doherty Associates / Macmillan)
  • The Martian, by Andy Weir (Crown Publishers / Penguin Random House)
  • The Terrorist’s Son: A Story of Choice, by Zak Ebrahim with Jeff Giles (TED Books / Simon & Schuster)
  • Those Who Wish Me Dead, by Michael Koryta (Little, Brown and Company / Hachette Book Group)
  • Wolf in White Van, by John Darnielle (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

2015 Andrew Carnegie Medal (video):

Me...Jane, produced by Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard, Weston Woods Studios, Inc.

2015 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award: Donald Crews

2015 Margaret A. Edwards Award: Sharon M. Draper

2016 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award: Pat Mora

2015 Mildred L. Batchelder Award:

Mikis and the Donkey, translated by Laura Watkinson, written by Bibi Dumon Tak, illustrated by Philip Hopman (Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.)

2015 Batchelder Honor Books:

  • Hidden: A Child’s Story of the Holocaust, translated by Alexis Siegel, written by Loic Dauvillier, illustrated by Marc Lizano, color by Greg Salsedo (First Second / Roaring Brook Press / Holtzbrinck)
  • Nine Open Arms, translated by John Nieuwenhuizen, written by Benny Lindelauf, illustrated by Dasha Tolstikova (Enchanted Lion Books)

2015 Odyssey Award (audiobook):

H. O. R. S. E. A Game of Basketball and Imagination, produced by Live Oak Media. Written by Christopher Myers, narrated by Dion Graham and Christopher Myers.

2015 Odyssey Honor Recordings:

  • Five, Six, Seven, Nate! produced by Audioworks/Simon & Schuster, Inc. Written and narrated by Tim Federle
  • The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, produced by Listening Library / Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group. Written by Julie Berry, narrated by Jayne Entwistle
  • A Snicker of Magic, produced by Scholastic Audiobooks. Written by Natalie Lloyd, narrated by Cassandra Morris

2015 Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award:

Viva Frida, illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales (A Neal Porter Book / Roaring Brook Press)

2015 Belpré Illustrator Honor Books:

  • Little Roja Riding Hood, illustrated by Susan Guevara, written by Susan Middleton Elya (G. P. Putnam’s Sons / Penguin Random House)
  • Green Is a Chile Pepper, illustrated by John Parra, written by Roseanne Greenfield Thong (Chronicle Books)
  • Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation, illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams Books for Young Readers / Abrams)

2015 Pura Belpré (Author) Award:

I Lived on Butterfly Hill written by Marjorie Agosín, illustrated by Lee White (Atheneum Books for Young Readers / Simon & Schuster)

2015 Belpré Author Honor Book:

  • Portraits of Hispanic American Heroes, written by Juan Felipe Herrera, illustrated by Raúl Colón (Dial Books for Young Readers / Penguin Random House)

2015 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award:

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus, by Jen Bryant (Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.)

2015 Sibert Honor Books:

  • Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books / Penguin Random House)
  • The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion & the Fall of Imperial Russia, by Candace Fleming (Schwartz & Wade / Penguin Random House)
  •  Josephine: The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker, written by Patricia Hruby Powell, illustrated by Christian Robinson (Chronicle Books)
  • Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting with the Great Whites of California’s Farallon Islands, written and illustrated by Katherine Roy (David Macaulay Studio / Roaring Brook Press / Macmillan)
  • Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation, illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams Books for Young Readers / Abrams)

2015 Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award:

This Day in June, written by Gayle E. Pitman, Ph.D., illustrated by Kristyna Litten (Magination Press / American Psychological Association)

2015 Stonewall Honor Books:

  • Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out, by Susan Kuklin, photographed by Susan Kuklin (Candlewick Press)
  • I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jandy Nelson (Dial Books / Penguin Random House)
  • Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress, written by Christine Baldacchio, pictures by Isabelle Malenfant (Groundwood Books / House of Anansi Press)

2015 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award:

You Are (Not) Small, written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant (Two Lions)

2015 Geisel Honor Books:

  • Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page, written by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Arthur Howard (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Waiting Is Not Easy! written and illustrated by Mo Willems (Hyperion Books for Children / Disney Book Group)

2015 William C. Morris Award:

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces,  by Isabel Quintero (Cinco Puntos Press)

2105 William C. Morris finalists

  • The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley (Elephant Rock Books)
  • The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston (Carolrhoda LabTM / Lerner Publishing Group)
  • The Scar Boys, by Len Vlahos (Egmont Publishing)
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton (Candlewick Press)

2015 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek, by Maya Van Wagenen (Dutton / Penguin Random House)

2015 YALSA Award finalists:

  • Laughing at My Nightmare, by Shane Burcaw (Roaring Brook Press / Macmillan)
  • The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion & the Fall of Imperial Russia, by Candace Fleming (Schwartz & Wade / Penguin Random House)
  • Ida M. Tarbell: The Woman Who Challenged Big Business—and Won!, by Emily Arnold McCully (Clarion Books / Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights, by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook Press / Macmillan)

Find Your Next Job

Job Search by