2015 Youth Media - Newbery, Caldecott, King and Prinz Award Recipients

Jacqueline Woodson took home a number of awards for her book, Brown Girl Dreaming. Robin Marchant / Getty Images Entertainment

On February 2, 2015, the American Library Association announced winners of the Youth Media Awards, citing the most distinguished work in book writing, book illustration, video and audio books for children and young adults. The announcement was made in conjunction with the ALA's Midwinter Conference in Chicago.

Learn about the criteria for each of the ALA Youth Media Awards.

Following is list of all the 2015 Newbery Medal recipient and Honor Books, the Caldecott Medal recipient and Honor Books, the Coretta Scott King Award winners and Honor Books, and Michael L.

Prinz Award winner and Honor Books. (Publishers appear in parentheses.)

2015 John Newbery Medal:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

2015 Newbery Honor Books:

  • El Deafo by Cece Bell, illustrated by Cece Bell (Amulet Books / Abrams)
  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books / Penguin Random House)



2015 Randolph Caldecott Medal:

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend illustrated and written by Dan Santat (Little, Brown and Company / Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

2015 Caldecott Honor Books:

  • Nana in the City, illustrated and written by Lauren Castillo (Clarion Books /  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company)
  • The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky’s Abstract Art, illustrated by Mary GrandPré,  written by Barb Rosenstock (Alfred A. Knopf / Random House Children’s Books / Penguin Random House)
  • Sam & Dave Dig a Hole, illustrated by Jon Klassen,  written by Mac Barnett (Candlewick Press)
  • Viva Frida, illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales (A Neal Porter Book / Roaring Brook Press)
  • The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus, illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant (Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.)
  • This One Summer, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, written by Mariko Tamaki (First Second)


2015 Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award:

Jacqueline Woodson for Brown Girl Dreaming (Nancy Paulsen Books / Penguin Random House)

2015 Coretta Scott King (Author) Honor Books:

  • Kwame Alexander for The Crossover (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing)
  • Marilyn Nelson for How I Discovered Poetry, illustrated by Hadley Hooper (Dial Books / Penguin Random House)
  • Kekla Magoon for How It Went Down (Henry Holt and Company)


2015 Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

Christopher Myers for Firebird written by Misty Copeland (G. P. Putnam’s Sons / Penguin Random House)

2015 Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Honor Books:

  • Christian Robinson for Josephine: The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker, written by Patricia Hruby Powell (Chronicle Books)
  • Frank Morrison for Little Melba and Her Big Trombone, written by Katheryn Russell-Brown (Lee and Low Books, Inc.)

2015 Coretta Scott King / John Steptoe New Talent Author Award:

When I Was the Greatest, written and illustrated by Jason Alexander (Atheneum Books for Young Readers / Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division)

2015 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:

Deborah D. Taylor

Taylor was chosen as the recipient of the 2015 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement because her career has been spent as mentor, educator and literacy advocate for young adults. As an inspiring young adult librarian, a leader in national associations, and a university instructor, she is distinguished for her effectiveness in introducing young people as well as her professional colleagues to the outstanding work of African American authors.

Taylor began her career in public service more than 40 years ago at the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, where she is currently coordinator of School and Student Services. 

2015 Michael L. Printz Award:

I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jandy Nelson, (Dial Books / Penguin Random House)

2015 Michael L. Printz Honor Books:

  • And We Stay, by Jenny Hubbard (Delacorte Press / Random House Children’s Books / Penguin Random House)
  • The Carnival at Bray, by Jessie Ann Foley (Elephant Rock Books)
  • Grasshopper Jungle, by Andrew Smith (Dutton Books / Penguin Random House)
  • This One Summer, by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki (published by First Second)


Read about the all the other categories of the prestigious 2015 ALA Youth Media Award winners and honors.